Saturday, May 31, 2014

The Tea Party is Dead! Long Live the Tea Party!

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Federal Priest Molest Michigan's Election Laws



The U.S. Constitution specifically dictates that the States have the authority to determine the place, time and manner of elections of their senators and representatives.  Rep. John Conyers (D-MI) failed to meet Michigan’s filing requirements.  Mind you, he’s been in Congress for over 50 years.  He knows his state’s election laws.  That doesn’t mean anything in the Age of Obama.  A federal judge ruled Mr. Conyers shall be on the ballot.

Who in the hell is this judge?  Why he’s one of Sen. Harry Reid’s gate crashers.  After Senate Democrats changed the rules on confirmation of presidential appointees, there has been a stampede of molesters to the federal priesthood.  The Hill reported the following:

Judge Matthew Leitman ordered that Conyers be put back on the August ballot last week after the Michigan secretary of state had denied the congressman's appeal earlier in the day.

The dispute stems from the failure of Conyers — who has been in Congress for almost 50 years — to submit enough petition signatures to qualify for the ballot under Michigan law. No one disputes that Conyers did not meet the legal requirements to be on the ballot, but Leitman ruled that "There is evidence that their failure to comply with the Registration Statute was the result of good faith mistakes and that they believed they were in compliance with the statute."

Not shockingly, Leitman gained his seat on the federal bench just two months ago, as a result of Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid's (D-Nev.) invoking the so-called nuclear option, where President Obama's nominees can be confirmed by the Senate without the need to reach a bipartisan consensus on their worthiness. After surviving the confirmation process with only a partisan fueled 55-43 vote, Leitman has already paid off for Conyers, one of their oldest warhorses.

Constitution?  Democrats don’t need a stinking constitution.


Source: http://thehill.com/blogs/pundits-blog/the-judiciary/207236-reids-nuclear-confirmed-judge-ignores-the-law#ixzz333qcCRQF

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

America's Black Robed Pharisees




All bow to America’s black robed Pharisees.  These arbiters of social justice have deigned all of us mere plebeians who’ve just crawled out of the primordial ooze.  Why we’re fresh from wiping the mud out of our eyes.  How dare we govern ourselves by passing state laws that don’t comport to their superior sense of morality?  Just who in the hell do we think we are?  God doesn’t exist.  Federal judges are the supreme beings in today’s America! 




The Associated Press published an article praising these demigods for striking down States’ constitutional amendments that banned gay marriage.  And what vehicle did this priestly class use to deny a citizen’s right to self-government.  Why the 14th Amendment of course.

The 14th Amendment was borne out of war.  It was designed to punish those who dared to proclaim their independence from Northern aggressors.  This amendment was used to disenfranchise, murder and steal property from the vanquished.  The 14th Amendment should be called the Occupier Amendment, for it was the bayonet that brought obedience.

The equal protection clause was the only noble clause in the Occupier Amendment.  It was designed to ensure ex-slaves and their progeny were granted all rights of citizenship and treated the same as anyone else under state laws.   But of course, federal judges bastardized the text and the intent of the 14thAmendment.  Now, it means anything an activist judge wants it to mean.

One must ask why this amendment is still on the books.  The Civil War ended 150 years ago.  Surely, it has outlived its usefulness.  The answer is the 14th is the only vehicle that allows unelected agents of the federal government to subvert the 9th and 10th Amendments of the Constitution, and marginalize those who believe in a limited central government.    

 One of our biggest threats to liberty and property is a rogue judiciary.  The Anti-Federalist believed unelected and unaccountable judges would trample upon States, while concentrating power unto a centralized government.  These oracles were truly prophetic.




Source:

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Barack Obama: The Participation Trophy President




This is what this country has become.  I wonder how many cabinet meetings this guy has been to.  Obama should get a participation trophy for being president of the United States with an MVP for being mad about his administrations incompetence.


Absolutely, unbelievable.

Federal Bureaucracy Has Become Our HAL9000



The federal bureaucracy is a living organism.  It breeds, feeds and shits on the American people.  And like any animal, once wounded and cornered, it will bare its teeth and attack anyone who threatens it. 

Do we need any more proof these bureaucracies are out of control after the shenanigans of the IRS, BLM, EPA, ATF and OSHA.  These government agencies know who their friends are, and the Tea Party isn’t one of them, hence the persecution of freedom loving citizens.


Democrats believe they are in control of these agencies and are protecting them.  After all, they are, for the moment, doing their political dirty work.  But like HAL9000 in the movie, 2001: A Space Odyssey, this bureaucratic organism will eventually become too powerful to control.  And sooner or later they will deny access to their stunned overlords.



Monday, May 19, 2014

Little Rascals - Charge of the Light Brigade




The Little Rascals used to be on every Sunday morning when I was kid.  To this day, I laugh my ass off watching these skits.  Can you imagine having firecrackers in school in this day and age?  Alfalfa would've been beaten and arrested for being a terrorist.

Trail of History - Torance Family





The Torance family (there are various spellings of this name) were a prominent, colonial family in North Carolina's Piedmont region.  They were patriots in the American Revolution.  Their property became a gathering place for militia during General Cornwallis pursuit of General Greene's Continental Army.  Tarleton's cavalry sent them running before they could form a line of battle.


Some of the oldest cemeteries in the Piedmont have a Torance buried in them.  James Galbraith Torrance, son of the original proprietor, is laid to rest in Hopewell Church Cemetery off of Beatties Ford Rd.  For a brief history click the links below.








Source:




http://library.uncc.edu/manuscript/ms0087

A Napoleon Marshal is Buried in Rural North Carolina?



I discovered something astonishing while reading a history of a prominent family in North Carolina’s Piedmont region.  The Torance family (there are various spellings of this name) settled in northern Mecklenburg County in the mid 1700’s. They were prosperous business owners.  And as you can expect, success provides amenities.  One of those amenities is having a private tutor.  That teacher was Marshal Ney.






Peter Stewart Ney served in Napoleons Grand Army.  He was considered “The bravest of the brave,” and one of Napoleon’s favorites.  Marshal Ney was in charge of the rear-guard during the retreat from Russia in the War of 1812.  He also led the disastrous cavalry charge at the battle of Waterloo.  After Napoleon’s defeat, Marshal Ney was executed for treason via firing squad; so they say.  Here is picture of his grave in France:





Here is his grave at Third Creek Presbyterian Church in Rowan County, North Carolina:










Two graves for one man, such is the legend of Marshal Peter Stewart Ney.



Source:



Thursday, May 15, 2014

Liberals Demand Political Religious Test for Public Office




The U.S. Constitution specifically prohibits religious test as a qualifier for obtaining public office.  However, liberals have a completely different form of religion than what our founding fathers envisioned.  Political ideology is the Democratic Party’s god.  They have deemed it heresy to have a different point of view from them.  And they want to silence us.  One of their global warming priests has made that proposal.  Truth Revolt reported the following:


Chris Hayes thinks politicians who don't accept global warming theory or gay marriage should be disqualified from holding office.
 On his MSNBC show "All In" Hayes made the astounding assertion after discussing multiple "disqualifying" views with a panel including former New York Times columnist Bob Herbert, Christina Bellantoni, editor-in-chief of Roll Call, and Richard Kim, executive editor of TheNation.com.
 Newsbusters has the transcript which shows how this cadre of progressives appoint themselves the enlightened few who can determine which views are worthy of public discussion and which are to be agreed upon without debate. As Paul Bremmer points out in his article, "Hayes has stumbled upon a new way to squelch debate in this country and pave the way for liberal domination of American political thought."


Soon, these totalitarians will have dissenters wearing identifiers on their clothing, and then ship us off to some dark corner of the world in order to be liquidated.


Liberals to Demand Voter ID for Children's Choice Book Awards?



Last night, Rush Limbaugh won the Children's Choice Book Award for best author, and libtard heads are exploding all around the country.  First, they tried to have his nomination revoked.  After that failed, they accused the Children’s Book Council of being shills for right-wing ideology.  Now, after Mr. Limbaugh won, they are making accusations of vote fixing.  Here is an excerpt from the Associated Press:


Nominees for best author are determined by how many copies their books sell, while the winners are supposedly picked by kids, who vote online. But executive director Robin Adelson of the Children's Book Council and Every Child a Reader, nonprofit organizations that co-founded the awards seven years ago, acknowledged Thursday that adults could easily vote and vote multiple times, a problem not uncommon for Internet competitions.
"Every one of our finalists gets fake votes every year," Adelson told The Associated Press. "We like to think that's the enthusiasm of adults who love children's books."
Adelson cited three ways that people can vote: a widget that can be embedded in such popular kids' websites as www.poptropica.com, a link on the awards website (http://ccbookawards.com) that allows individuals to vote and a link on the awards site that allows teachers, librarians and others to submit bulk votes on behalf of their institution.
Adelson said she doubted that parents or other grown-ups were voting through Poptropica, but acknowledged the awards site was more likely to be manipulated. An individual voter can vote multiple times and does not need to provide a verifiable email address or proof of his or her age. Bulk voters are required to submit a verifiable email, but there is no guarantee that a given teacher or librarian is really expressing the wishes of others.

So what’s next?  Are liberals going to demand children provide voter ID’s in order to participate in future awards.  I wouldn’t put it past them.  In the meantime, they consider it sacrilege to hold the same kind of standards when electing public officials.


USDA Prepares for Armed Livestock Rebellion




Why does the USDA need submachine guns with 30 round clips?  Has livestock risen up in armed rebellion?  Or could it be, these weapons have a more nefarious purpose?

According to the solicitation, the Dept. of Agriculture wants the guns to have an "ambidextrous safety, semiautomatic or 2 round [bursts] trigger group, Tritium night sights front and rear, rails for attachment of flashlight (front under fore group) and scope (top rear), stock collapsible or folding," and a "30 rd. capacity" magazine.

They also want the submachine guns to have a "sling," be "lightweight," and have an "oversized trigger guard for gloved operation." 

The solicitation directs "all responsible and/or interested sources...[to] submit their company name, point of contact, and telephone." Companies that submit information in a "timely" fashion "shall be considered by the agency for contact to determine weapon suitability."

More evidence the federal bureaucracies are turning on the citizenry.




Minimum Wage Hike is a Pay Cut for the Middle Class




Again, the geniuses in Washington D.C. are trying to impose their will on our nation’s economy, this time by imposing a minimum wage increase.  They believe it will help the working poor, but in reality, it’s a pay cut for the middle class.  I was unable to find a think tank, or a pundit that could articulate this truth.  Instead, I found a letter to Asbury Park Press’ editor:

To quote Walter Kelly, the creator of the comic strip Pogo, "We have met the enemy and he is us."
Once again we have shot ourselves in the foot with the passage of a N.J. constitutional amendment that not only raises the minimum wage by 14 percent but will automatically be increased each January in accordance with the Consumer Price Index. Unskilled labor will now get automatic yearly wage increases without qualification.
This is a slap in the face to skilled workers and middle managers who not only may not get any raise, but may be asked or forced to make concessions on benefits or even take pay cuts.
Gov. Christie made a compromise offer of a phased-in wage increase that would have been acceptable to business, but the left-leaning Democrats would not have it, knowing that the uninformed electorate would take the bait.
And who will pay for this pay raise? Not the rich or the ruling class, as they were the ones orchestrating it. Not businesses, as they will surely pass the expense on to consumers. Then who, pray tell? Why, the usual suspects: the hard-working middle class, whose members will become just that much poorer. And of course, the entry-level workers, mostly teens, who will lose jobs the amendment was purportedly intended to enhance.
It's just another case of the redistribution of wealth, with the exception of the masterminds, i.e., the ruling-class 1-percenters.
James Spickard
Tuckerton

As always, the citizenry demonstrates the superiority of their wisdom over our establishment overlords.


U.S. has Become Dumping Ground for Third World



The United States has become a dumping ground for the third world.  We’ve become the toilet for our neighbors’ dogs.  The world’s refuse has found out they can do any damn thing they want in our county without consequence, and that includes murder.  The Washington Times reported the latest outrage by the Obama administration: 


Immigration officials knowingly released dozens of murderers and thousands of drunken drivers back into the U.S. in 2013, according to Obama administration statistics that could undercut the president’s argument that he is trying to focus on the most serious criminals in his immigration enforcement.


Among the 36,000 immigrants whom U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement released from custody last year there were 116 with convictions for homicide, 43 for negligent manslaughter, 14 for voluntary manslaughter and one with a conviction classified by ICE as “homicide-willful kill-public official-gun.”





The immigrants were in deportation proceedings, meaning ICE was trying to remove them from the country and could have held them in detention but released them anyway, according to the Center for Immigration Studies, which published the numbers Monday. The Washington Times also obtained the data.

It’s bad enough both parties have conferred martyrdom status upon these invaders, but to unleash an army of predators on the citizenry is unconscionable.  It just goes to show you how little regard the Washington D.C. establishment has for the American people. 

Last year, 2,999 productive citizens renounced their U.S. citizenship, which is a record high.  We are replacing them with low-skilled illiterates who have the reproductive cycle of rabbits.  Thanks Washington.  You’re a bunch of geniuses. 


Monday, May 12, 2014

Public Defender: Black Community Infested with Illiterate Sociopaths



We’ve all heard the mantra from liberals that they want a national discussion on race relations.  Eric Holder, our own U.S. Attorney General, accused Americans of being cowards when it comes to this issue.  In all honesty, they don’t want to have that discussion.

American Renaissance published an article entitled, Confessions of a Public Defender.  I’m here to say this is the most damning piece I’ve ever read about the black community.  The author is using a pen name.  I would too if I had written it.  The only problem with using pseudonyms is it allows the critics to question the veracity of the work.

However, with that being said, this article answers some of the questions that plague our inner-cities, prisons, government welfare programs, and society in general.  Basically Michael Smith, the author, accuses the black community of being infested with illiterate sociopaths.  Now mind you, Mr. Smith isn’t a flame throwing right-winger.  He is a professed liberal.  You can read the article in its entirety by clicking the link below.  To get a flavor, here is the conclusion: 

I am a liberal. I believe that those of us who are able to produce abundance have a moral duty to provide basic food, shelter, and medical care for those who cannot care for themselves. I believe we have this duty even to those who can care for themselves but don’t. This world view requires compassion and a willingness to act on it.
My experience has taught me that we live in a nation in which a jury is more likely to convict a black defendant who has committed a crime against a white. Even the dullest of blacks know this. There would be a lot more black-on-white crime if this were not the case.
However, my experience has also taught me that blacks are different by almost any measure to all other people. They cannot reason as well. They cannot communicate as well. They cannot control their impulses as well. They are a threat to all who cross their paths, black and non-black alike.
I do not know the solution to this problem. I do know that it is wrong to deceive the public. Whatever solutions we seek should be based on the truth rather than what we would prefer was the truth. As for myself, I will continue do my duty to protect the rights of all who need me.

If Democrats want to talk about race relations in this country, they can start with this article.


Delegates Gathering in Indiana to Amend the Constitution




It seems we are reaching a tipping point.  Americans have had enough of the Washington D.C. establishment running roughshod over the U.S. Constitution and our unalienable rights.  People are beginning to recognize that the solution will never come out of Washington D.C.  That town is surrounded by political grafters enriching themselves at taxpayer expense.  Their suburbs have been deemed the richest in the country.

Delegates are scheduled to gather in Indiana for the sole purpose of amending the Constitution:

The June 12-13 gathering of The Mount Vernon Assembly will focus on shaping the rules and procedures for a Convention of the States.

Indiana Senate President David Long tells The Times of Munster that the group won't propose any amendments this time.

Two-thirds of state legislatures must ask Congress to call a Convention of the States to propose amendments. The amendments can be added to the Constitution without congressional approval so long they are ratified by three-fourths of the states.

Thank God the founders included a provision so the States can have an ability to put a check on this abusive government.  They were truly the greatest and wisest generation this country has ever produced.


Republican Establishment Spins Good News over Tea Party Defeat



Liberal rags love to publish op-ed pieces by RINO’s.  For almost a year, the Charlotte Disturber has featured Michael Gerson, a National Journal contributor and notorious establishment apologist, in their Sunday editions.  These two peas have a pod in common, they love bashing Tea Partiers.

Gerson portrays these patriots as a bunch of petulant children stomping their feet and demanding their Constitution.  When reading his articles, you get a sense that Tea Partiers need to have their asses spanked for demanding a bunch of nonsense.  Indeed, after last week’s primaries, Mr. Gerson is outright giddy over their defeat.  Here is an excerpt from his latest:

Tea Party leaders managed to confuse petulant, childish, counterproductive legislative tactics with constitutional fidelity. And Republican leaders finally realized that some Tea Party agendas — list building, fundraising, presidential primary positioning — were inconsistent with their own.
The government shutdown may turn out to have been the high-water mark — the Cemetery Ridge — of the Tea Party movement. In the aftermath, House Speaker John Boehner declared that Tea Party groups had “lost all credibility,” and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell promised that the party would “crush” outsiders targeting incumbents.

We had a government shutdown?  I didn’t notice, except for the Park Service harassing WWII vets on the national mall.  And wasn’t it reported that only one federal employee was laid off?  Again, I ask, what shut down?

Mr. Gerson believes we children need to be governed.  I would say the more apt word is managed.  Here is his condescending parting shot:

The main problem with the Tea Party movement is not tactical or tonal but ideological. Its leaders quote the Constitution to end political discussions: Where do you find the Environmental Protection Agency or the National Institutes of Health or Social Security in the language of the document? Most of the Founding Fathers (particularly the Federalist ones) saw the Constitution as the beginning of a political discussion: How does a free nation employ this remarkable structure to confront its problems and achieve its greatness?
Some quote the Constitution as a substitute for a policy agenda. It is easier, after all, to memorize than to govern. But a majority political party will convincingly address public needs: routine educational failure, increasing higher-education costs, gaps in health coverage and the like. This is what self-government under the Constitution looks like.
Yes, the GOP needs electable candidates. It also needs for those candidates to have something useful and hopeful to say.

Mr. Gerson, here is something useful to say.   Congress has abdicated their constitutional responsibilities.  We have federal bureaucracies running the show, and our elected representatives are the dog and pony show.  I’m not blowing tea party smoke.  The Wall Street Journal published the following:
Washington set a new record in 2013 by issuing final rules consuming 26,417 pages in the Federal Register. While plenty of government employees deserve credit for this milestone, leadership matters. And by this measure President Obama has never been surpassed in the Oval Office.
The latest rule-making tally comes from the Competitive Enterprise Institute's Wayne Crews, who on April 29 will publish his annual review of federal regulation in "Ten Thousand Commandments." This is important work because politicians and the media treat regulation as a largely cost-free public good. Mr. Crews knows better.
Congress may be mired in gridlock, but the federal bureaucracy is busier than ever. In 2013 the Federal Register contained 3,659 "final" rules, which means they now must be obeyed, and 2,594 proposed rules on their way to becoming orders from political headquarters.
The Federal Register finished 2013 at 79,311 pages, the fourth highest total in history. That didn't match President Obama's 2010 all-time record of 81,405 pages. But Mr. Obama can console himself by noting that of the five highest Federal Register page counts, four have occurred on his watch. The other was 79,435 pages under President George W. Bush in 2008.


How’s that for something useful to say, Mr. Establishment Republican?  Here’s another universal truth, you insiders aren’t going to do a damn thing about it.  Try and spin some hope out of that.



Saturday, May 10, 2014

A Mother's Day Remembrance




My mother passed away a couple of years ago.  One of her great loves was country music.  I’ll never forget one album that she enjoyed in the 70’s, and for some reason it stuck with me.  Narvel Felts has a unique voice, and he puts his all in it, as evidenced in this video.


Here’s to you, Mom.  Love always.

The Harvard Bait & Switch: Harvey Silverglate on the University's Free S...





H/T:  Maggie's Farm

Dept of Justice Displays Contempt for Congress During IRS Hearing




I have been blogging about the utter contempt the Obama administration, and basically the whole damn federal bureaucracy has for our elected representatives and by extension we the people.  Needless to say, it is astonishing.  The Daily Mail published the following:

The acting deputy U.S. attorney general in charge of overseeing 'public integrity' prosecutions testified Friday that he doesn't know who's in charge of the criminal investigation of Lois Lerner, the former IRS official at the center of the tea-party targeting scandal.


David O'Neil, whose job atop the DOJ's criminal division puts him in charge of public corruption prosecutions, told Ohio Republican Rep. Jim Jordan that he also doesn't know how many prosecutors are assigned to the case, or how many attorneys from his division are working on it.


Asked to identify the lead agent in the Lerner investigation, O'Neil would only answer, 'I'm sure that we can provide that information to you.'


The House has been asking for this information for over a year!  In order to get the full monty of the condescending attitude Mr. O’Neil has for Congress, you need to watch the video below.  It is truly reprehensible.

Pope Francis Encourages Governments to Break God's Law



When the College of Cardinals selected a third-worlder as their pope, they should expect third-world economic policies and ideology.  Pope Francis hails from Argentina.  Argentina is an economic basket case.  When a private individual has a naval ship seized because of a debt; that should raise some eyebrows.  It should’ve caused a pope to rethink his economic ideology.

Pope Francis is a perfect example that you can take a person out of the third world, but you can’t take the third world out of the person.   The Great Leveler encouraged the world to adopt a Latin American economic model.  The Associated Press reported the following: 

VATICAN CITY (AP) -- Pope Francis called Friday for governments to redistribute wealth and benefits to the poor in a new spirit of generosity to help curb the "economy of exclusion" that is taking hold today.
Francis made the appeal during a speech to U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and the heads of major U.N. agencies who met in Rome this week.

Latin America's first pope has frequently lashed out at the injustices of capitalism and the global economic system. On Friday, Francis called for the United Nations to promote a "worldwide ethical mobilization" of solidarity with the poor.

He said a more equal form of economic progress can be had through "the legitimate redistribution of economic benefits by the state, as well as indispensable cooperation between the private sector and civil society."

In order to achieve this so-called justice for the poor, six of the Ten Commandments must be broken.  Let’s start with the tenth and work our way up:


Thou shalt not covet thy neighbors’ house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.


In order to redistribute others wealth you have to covet and confiscate.  Does that not break God’s law?


Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour
.
In order to confiscate your neighbors’ property, you must bear false witness.  You must dehumanize those who have, or, is perceived to have wealth so as to make seizure more palatable.


Thou shalt not steal.

Government seizure of one’s property in order to give to another is nothing more than legalized theft.


Thou shalt not kill.

 Chances are some people are going to resist having their property taken from them.  Some people are going to have their lives destroyed.  Some people are going to get killed.


Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee

If Governments confiscate the wealth of others, how are the victims going to look after their families?  In order to honor thy father and thy mother, one must have the means to support them.  It won’t be possible with this great leveling Pope Francis is advocating.



Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.


I’m sure there will be a lot of swearing when government thugs take what is not theirs in order to give to third-worlders.  Breaking this commandment is inevitable.
           

Instead of addressing the real problems that cause poverty, such as corrupt governments, failed economic policies, and unreliable energy sources, people like Pope Francis encourage governments to break God’s laws.  Instead of emulating the most prosperous countries, it is much easier to drag them down into the morass that is the third-world.









Friday, May 9, 2014

Time to Regulate the Regulators




Armed government thugs confiscating and destroying private property; corrupt judges and officers of the court jackbooting the citizenry under the pretence of law; eastern elites thumbing their noses at the downtrodden all the while enjoying their ill-gotten gains.  Sounds a lot like what’s happening in America today, doesn’t it?  What I described happened in the 1760’s in North Carolina’s Piedmont region.

Pioneers began to settle this area in the 1740’s & 50’s.  These hearty, industrious, and religious settlers scratched out a living as farmers in what then was a frontier.  Soon thereafter, the predators showed up.  Land agents for the Crown and a lord proprietor, who refused to sell back his interest to the king, were sent to survey and force these squatters to pay for their farms and subsequent taxes, which included the improvements they made on the land.

Hard currency was in short supply.  The only people who had money were government officials, or those who had already established their wealth in other colonies.  Many of these officials were paid by fees they collected. Eventually, these functionaries discovered it was more profitable to confiscate farms and sell it to their friends and/or, force these debtors to work their lands.

Eventually, these farmers had enough.  They named themselves Regulators and began a rebellion.  They beat judges, sheriffs, and their lawyer hirelings.  The most offensive ones had their houses burned to the ground.

East coast North Carolinians were frightened that these angry farmers would eventually march on the capitol, which at that time was New Bern.  They hurriedly passed laws that addressed the grievances of these pissed off, backwoods ruffians.  It was too late.  These folks had lost all confidence in the rule of law, especially when the Regulators sent one of their own to represent them in the General Assembly, only to have him drummed out and arrested on trumped up charges of libel.  Armed conflict was inevitable.

Governor Tryon, along with North Carolina elites, assembled the militia and marched to Hillsborough.  They suppressed the rebellion; hung the leaders they captured; confiscated weapons; burned down known Regulator farms, and forced thousands to swear loyalty oaths.

Here is the irony:  those same elites who brutally suppressed the Regulators later became revolutionaries in the War for Independence.  Apparently, it was alright for agents of government to violate the inalienable rights of the great unwashed, but when the Crown abused them, it was time to throw off the shackles.

We are basically witnessing the same kind of abuses in today’s America.  Even though we haven’t seen mass armed rebellion against the political elites and their army of bureaucrats, we, however, are witnessing a suppression of Tea Party dissent. 


We can expect change in Washington D.C. when the federal bureaucracy turns on the elites.  We are already witnessing federal bureaucrats disrespect our elected representatives.  Someday they will have had enough and they too will rebel.  


Carolina Journal Radio on Entrepreneurial Spirit and Government Regulations



This idea of public/private partnerships is nothing more than crony capitalism.  Some businesses thrive off of taxpayer money and regulatory hurdles.  In order to be successful, these companies, along with their political enablers, need to suppress competition and innovation.   

For most of human history there has been technological stagnation with a few hiccups of advancements.  The last couple of centuries have been unique.  We are witnessing innovations that no one could have comprehended decades ago.

Yet, there are those who don’t appreciate the entrepreneurial spirit.  To them it’s a dog eat dog world.  These miserable bastards believe anyone who succeeds is greedy slavers who earn their money off the backs of the poor.  They want a great leveling.  They want a return to the horse and buggy days of stagnation and general misery.  These people, who are filled with hate and envy, want to use government regulations as a means to punish.  All the while, mindlessly using the technology and products these very same entrepreneurs helped to create.

Carolina Journal Radio published an interview with Fred Smith, a founder of the Competitive Enterprise Institute, on the entrepreneurial spirit and the consequences of stagnation.  Here is an excerpt.  You can read the rest by clicking the link below.

Kokai: Many of us who are not entrepreneurs by nature would see the entrepreneurial spirit in action and say, “Wait a minute, this is just too hard to take.” Why is this something that we have to take and say, “Look, entrepreneurs, do what you do because this is beneficial”?

Smith: Creative destruction is the core of that question because every act of change does some damage to the existing world. The automobile put out of business the buggy makers. The Internet has threatened the whole journalism world we grew up in. … We see the wreckage in the past of the change, but we fail to understand the incredible future that is opened up by that way. 

Over the last — well, mankind over the last 10,000 or 30,000 years almost always lived in a stagnant world. Some improvements, but the improvements were critically eaten away by population growth and so on. It’s only when we found ways to unleash the entrepreneurial spirit — the Industrial Revolution — that mankind began to live better and better and better and better.

And yet those very forces of change have made us complacent to some extent. Well, life isn’t so bad. Maybe we ought to slow down a little bit. 

Well, individually, perfectly fine: Many of us slow down as we get older. We retire and so forth, and many of us take occupations that a wealthy society can afford. Not economically remunerative, but wonderful jobs we like to see. The public policy world is very much like that as we both know. 

But the challenge is to keep those forces of stasis from trying to say, “Change is too disruptive. Let’s only have it when we decide it’s safe.” Because that misses the whole point. Entrepreneurs themselves aren’t sure what the hell they’re doing. They certainly don’t know what in the world they’re going to bring about.

Bill Gates, when he was inventing his products, actually thought computers only needed 32,000 pieces of memory. Who in the name of God would ever need more than that? Well, if Gates didn’t understand that, it’s obvious no one else did, too. Everyone thought they were going to have 100 computers in the whole United States. And Apple came along and realized that aesthetics could be merged with the technology, and now it would be … almost like a painting in a room. All of those changes which now we reckon, “Well, of course now, obviously anyone could see that.” Nobody saw it coming, including the entrepreneurs themselves.

To wait until the bureaucrats understand what’s going on means we’ll have a stagnant society forever. Holding innovation down to bureaucracy speed is a recipe for disaster, for no future at all. And whether we care about that for ourselves or not, we should care about it for the people of the world, many of whom, one-third of whom, are still locked in a-dollar-a-day poverty. Only innovation can bring about the wealth and knowledge to bring those people to our standard of living.

Kokai: Does it help when making this case to point to something like a smartphone and say, “Hey, 20, 25 years ago, no one would have even known that something like this could exist,” and if we block change and entrepreneurship now, the great things like the smartphone of the future won’t come about?

Smith: You can try it, but it’s amazing how difficult it is to get people to accept that. “Well, wait a minute. Everybody knows about smartphones.” Just like everybody knew about cars and everybody — at one time — knew about railroads. We take for granted what already exists. The future seems so uncertain, so risky, so dangerous. What are the smartphones that maybe 20, 30 years from now we’ll need?

Again, Wayne Crews points out, … one of the phrases we’ve gone through a lot is, “Most of the wealth the world would need in 30 years hasn’t even been envisioned yet.” It’s not only we don’t have it yet, we don’t even know what it is going to come from. We know possibly nanotechnology could be a wonderful breakthrough area, 3D printing could be incredibly amazing, totally specializing and decentralizing production for many, many products in our society. Cell biology with a possibility of decoding the reasons why cancers [exist]. 

All of those areas are incredibly interesting paths to the future, just beginning to be explored, just beginning to be trod upon. And every one of them is threatened by [Food and Drug Administration] regulation, by [Environmental Protection Agency] regulation, by local opposition, by the forces of stasis. We always have to recognize that change is disruptive, but stagnation is deadly