Sunday, March 31, 2013

Gov. Pat McCrory Treats All North Carolinians the Same



North Carolina is setting an example that the rest of the country should heed:  treat all citizens the same.  How many times have liberals declared our nation’s strength is our diversity?  Well it’s not.  When government entities pander to subset groups, they create resentment, suspicion and hate.  And how does that strengthen our republic?

Governor Pat McCrory has the right idea when it comes to treating all citizens as equals. 

North Carolina GOP Gov. Pat McCrory is under fire for eliminating the state’s Office of Hispanic/Latino affairs.

“The message from Raleigh is that Latinos in North Carolina don’t matter,” Jess George, executive director of the Latin American Coalition, told the Charlotte Observer.

“Despite movement with the Republican Party at the national level towards more bipartisan solutions around comprehensive immigration reform, North Carolina conservatives don’t seem to have gotten the same memo.”

McCrory spokesman Thomas Stith told the newspaper the duties of the office were being folded into the office of community and constituent affairs.

“We don’t segment our constituents by race or cultural background any more than we separate them by age or gender,’’ he said.


Of course the “Latino community” isn’t happy about the closing of their one-manned office, and neither is the statist at the Charlotte Observer, who published this cartoon:

A Charlotte Observer Easter Sunday Miracle!



Hold the presses!  We have a modern day Easter Sunday miracle!  The Charlotte Observer used logic and reason in one of its editorials.  They for once agreed with North Carolina Republicans on a legislative matter.  Who says the Lord doesn’t work in mysterious ways?
I, like many others, have written about the rising cost of health care.  One of the inflationary factors is our third-party payer system.  Hospitals are not held accountable for what they charge.  Finally, North Carolina’s General Assembly decided to do something about it.  Here are some of their proposals, as reported in the News & Observer:

• Require hospitals to report prices for their 50 most common “episodes of care,” such as tonsillectomies. The information would be sent to the nonprofit North Carolina Health Information Exchange, which would make the information publicly available on its web site. Hospitals would have to report how much uninsured patients, Medicare, Medicaid and the five largest insurers pay for each episode of care.
• Mandate that every hospital conspicuously post its charity care policy – both on its premises and on its website – along with the amount it spent on charity care in the previous year. The newspapers’ investigation found that most North Carolina hospitals were spending less than 3 percent of their budgets on free care for the poor and uninsured.

While most hospitals have charity care policies, patients don’t always learn about them. More than a third of the state’s hospitals provided no details about their charity care policies on their websites, the newspapers found.

• Prohibit hospitals from charging multiple times for outpatient radiology services that are rendered only once.
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina says such overcharging often happens when technicians take several images of a patient during radiology scans. For each image, hospitals often bill identical “technical component” fees – for such things as setting up IV fluids – even though the setup is performed only once. Blue Cross has been battling hospitals over that practice.

• Reward hospitals that have low Medicaid costs. Under a system used to maximize federal Medicaid funding, North Carolina requires most hospitals to pay an up-front assessment each year. The state then uses that money as a match to draw federal Medicaid dollars, and returns most of the money assessed to the hospitals. If the new legislation passes, the state would return most of the assessment dollars to hospitals with low Medicaid costs.
• Ban hospitals owned by the state – including UNC Hospitals – from seizing the tax refunds of patients who don’t pay their bills. Only state-owned hospitals have this power. “It’s a fairness issue,” said Brown, who co-chairs the Senate Appropriations Committee. “…We’re trying to level the playing field so everyone is treated the same.”

• Encourage a change in leadership at Community Care of North Carolina, a much-praised program aimed at helping Medicaid recipients stay healthy and avoid trips to emergency rooms.

And for good measure here is what the Disturber had to say about that Republican idea of health care savings accounts:
But as insurance deductibles have spiked and more Americans have taken advantage of Health Savings Accounts, consumers have become more attuned to that last line of the medical bill. And while hospitals say rightly that the price of a procedure is subject to the varying costs of everyone in the operating room, some medical markets have shown that putting it all together is possible. Cosmetic surgeons, for example, offer upfront estimates.

Such transparency, on a wider scale, can benefit both patients and providers. If hospitals must show you what procedures cost, they’ll be motivated to justify those costs with better outcomes and efficiencies. It’s called competition, but first we have to ask. We applaud Sens. Rucho and Brown for doing so.

This might be the second coming after all!


Thursday, March 28, 2013

Obama Administration Living the Life of O'Caligula





The Obama administration acts like Sequestration is damaging every aspect of American life; however, these same "public servants" go on extravagent vacations and junkets that are outrageous in cost.

Caligula would've been envious of these political manipulators.

H/T: NC Renegade

Victims of Federal Government Abuse




There is a venue for redress against federal government abuse. Finally, something is being done about it.

The Bastardization of Marriage




The drumbeat to applaud aberrant behavior is reaching a crescendo.  Already, liberal news outlets have declared a victory for same-sex marriage, even though the Supreme Court hasn’t ruled either way.  This despite the fact that a majority of Americans are against the deviancy of a time honored institution.  So what is ultimately driving this issue?
As it is with illegal immigrants gaining lawful status in the United States, the main issue seems to be benefits.  A New York woman filed suit for the following reasons:

 On Wednesday, the Supreme Court will take up the federal Defense of Marriage Act, the 1996 federal law that defines marriage as between one man and one woman.
The law prevents same-sex couples who are legally married from receiving a range of federal tax, pension and other benefits that otherwise are available to heterosexual married couples.

The plaintiff in the case is 83-year-old Edith Windsor, who lived with her partner Thea Spyer in New York City for more than four decades.
She sued the federal government after she was forced to pay $363,053 in estate taxes when Spyer died in 2009 because DOMA didn’t recognize their marriage, even though the state of New York did. The two were in married in Canada in 2007.

 Notice the complaint isn’t about confiscatory taxation, which is what the argument should be about.  No, this is about forcing a minority view upon the majority.   Many family owned businesses are treated the same way as this lesbian woman.  Maybe we should have intrafamily marriage rights.  That way generational marriage within the family can pass benefits and businesses onto their progeny without paying an inheritance tax.
F.A. Hayek wrote about the Progressives' bastardized of the language.  Rush Limbaugh spoke about it today:


 

Senator Kay Hagan Out of Touch With North Carolinians




Senator Kay Hagan is out of touch with North Carolinians. The citizens of this state overwhelming passed a constitutional amendment recognizing marriage as between one man and one woman.  Hagan sees things differently.










Hagan, one of the few Democratic senators who had not voiced support of gay marriage, made her announcement as the U.S. Supreme Court hears arguments on a federal law that denies federal benefits to married same-sex couples.

“I know there are strong feelings on both sides, and I have a great deal of respect for their opinions,” Hagan said in an interview. “But after much thought and prayer on my part, this is where I am today.

“I know all our families do not look alike,” she added. “We all want the same thing for our families. We want happiness; we want health, prosperity, a bright future for our children and grandchildren. After conversations I’ve had with family members, with people I go to church with and with North Carolinians from all walks of life, I’ve come to my own personal conclusion that we should not tell people who they can love, or who they can marry. It’s time to move forward with this issue.”

Does anyone remember the ad candidate Hagan aired on television denouncing Senator Dole for questioning her “Christian values”?  I guess Mrs. Dole wasn’t too far off.  Was she?
 

 
Not only is Senator Hagan out of step on this issue, she forced Obamacare down our throats, and passed a monstrous spending bill that – surprise, surprise – didn’t help the economy at all.  Any thinking person could of, and did warn us of this misguided policy.
It’s time for Kay Hagan to go.  And if it weren’t for the 17th Amendment, she would’ve already been recalled.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Ann Coulter Calls Out Parochial Elitest Jim Carrey





The liberal elites just love to look down their noses at us, plebeians.  Here’s a word that the progressives love to throw around: parochial.  And that’s exactly what best describes the likes of Jim Carrey, Michael Bloomberg, Senator Dianne Feinstein, and all the rest of the gun-grabbers who have armed body guards, yet wish to deny the rest of us the right to protect ourselves from evil predators.




Adam Lanza: Martyr for the Media and the Progressives




This Connecticut citizen nails it on so many levels.  The media and progressive politicians have made Adam Lanza a martyr for their cause.  It's as though they salivate for evil. 



Source:  Maggies Farm

Brigitte Gabriel: Islam's Plan to Destroy America




Source:  I Own the World

Linus and Lucy Debate the Issues





 
 
 
 


Source:  NC Renegade

What Will Happen if Same-Sex Marriage is Declared a Civil Right?



Gay marriage is before the Supreme Court.  General consensus is they’re looking for a way to skirt the issue.  Some justices have hinted that this issue isn’t ripe, just yet.  For the sake of argument, let’s consider the possibility of a ruling that grants same-sex marriages as a constitutionally protected civil right.

Rush Limbaugh touched on something that deserves debate.  What will happen to churches and religious institutions that refuse to recognize, or perform gay marriages.  Will the federal government take away their tax exempt status?  Will they fine, or possibly confiscate property in order to coerce them?  We’ve already witnessed the Obama administration bullying the Catholic Church and related organizations for not adopting parts of Obamacare.  Who’s to say that they won’t resort to such tactics?

 


So far, over 20 States have amended their constitutions formerly declaring that same-sex marriages are not recognized.  Will the federal government withhold subsidies, or will they occupy our capitols and setup quisling governments like they did to the South after the War of Northern Aggression? 

And isn’t it odd that the 14th Amendment - a post civil war amendment, which was designed to punish the South and its citizens, is still on the books?  And how many times has the federal judiciary abused its authority with this amendment?  The feds know how to coerce the sheeple.   
The 14th Amendment

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Section 2. Representatives shall be apportioned among the several States according to their respective numbers, counting the whole number of persons in each State, excluding Indians not taxed. But when the right to vote at any election for the choice of electors for President and Vice President of the United States, Representatives in Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers of a State, or the members of the Legislature thereof, is denied to any of the male inhabitants of such State, being twenty-one years of age, and citizens of the United States, or in any way abridged, except for participation in rebellion, or other crime, the basis of representation therein shall be reduced in the proportion which the number of such male citizens shall bear to the whole number of male citizens twenty-one years of age in such State.

Section 3. No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice President, or hold any office, civil or military, under the United States, or under any State, who, having previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer of the United States, or as a member of any State legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any State, to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof. But Congress may, by a vote of two-thirds of each House, remove such disability.

Section 4. The validity of the public debt of the United States, authorized by law, including debts incurred for payment of pensions and bounties for services in suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be questioned. But neither the United States nor any State shall assume or pay any debt or obligation incurred in aid of insurrection or rebellion against the United States, or any claim for the loss or emancipation of any slave; but all such debts, obligations and claims shall be held illegal and void.

Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.



Sunday, March 24, 2013

Obama Suspends U.S. Meat Inspection in Lieu of Aid to our Enemies




The Obama administration is willing to use Scarequestration to halt meat inspection and starve U.S. citizens; but they sure as hell won’t stop aid to our enemies.  Egypt’s Muslim Brotherhood government will get its $1.3 billion military aid package, and somehow the Palestinians picked the congressional lockbox that forbade $500 million in aid.

In the meantime, White House tours and the Easter egg roll has been suspended.  Oh, and did I mention that terrorist laden Syrian rebels will receive $60 million in aid?  Remind me who our enemies are again.

 

Source: 

http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4360135,00.html

Patrick Henry's Prescient Speech Foretold Today's Affairs



Yesterday was the anniversary of Patrick Henry’s famous Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death speech.  Many are probably not aware that this man was a fierce Anti-Federalist.  Men like Patrick Henry were prescient in their analysis of our U.S. Constitution.  We are witnessing in real time, the warnings of a man who knew government and human nature.  Here are a few excerpts from a speech he made on June, 7 1788:

 ...I have said that I thought this a Consolidated Government: I will now prove it. Will the great rights of the people be secured by this Government? Suppose it should prove oppressive, how can it be altered? Our Bill of Rights declares, "That a majority of the community hath an undubitable, unalienable, and indefeasible right to reform, alter, or abolish it, in such manner as shall be judged most conducive to the public weal." I have just proved that one tenth, or less, of the people of America, a most despicable minority may prevent this reform or alteration. Suppose the people of Virginia should wish to alter their Government; can a majority of them do it? No, because they are connected with other men; or, in other words, consolidated with other States: When the people of Virginia at a future day shall wish to alter their Government, though they should be unanimous in this desire, yet they may be prevented therefrom by a despicable minority at the extremity of the United States: The founders of your own Constitution made your Government changeable: But the power of changing it is gone from you! Whither is it gone? It is placed in the same hands that hold the rights of twelve other States; and those who hold those rights have right and power to keep them: It is not the particular Government of Virginia: One of the leading features of that Government is, that a majority can alter it, when necessary for the public good. This Government is not a Virginian but an American government.

 Isn’t that the truth?  Polling data consistently places 20 to 30% of the population having a favorable opinion on our current state of affairs.  And there is nothing that can be done to alter our situation.  Who are these people, you ask.  Why they’re the teat squawkers.  Here is what Patrick Henry had to say about them:

But what does this Constitution say? The clause under consideration gives an unlimited and unbounded power of taxation: Suppose every delegate from Virginia opposes a law laying a tax, what will it avail? They are opposed by a majority: Eleven members can destroy their efforts: Those feeble ten cannot prevent the passing the most oppressive tax law. So that in direct opposition to the spirit and express language of your Declaration of Rights, you are taxed not by your own consent, but by people who have no connection with you. The next clause of the Bill of Rights tells you, "That all power of suspending law, or the execution of laws, by any authority without the consent of the Representatives of the people, is injurious to their rights, and ought not to be exercised." This tells us that there can be no suspension of Government, or laws without our own consent: Yet this Constitution can counteract and suspend any of our laws, that contravene its oppressive operation; for they have the power of direct taxation; which suspends our Bill of Rights; and it is expressly provided, that they can make all laws necessary for carrying their powers into execution; and it is declared paramount to the laws and constitutions of the States. Consider how the only remaining defence we have left is destroyed in this manner. Besides the expenses of maintaining the Senate and other House in as much splendor as they please, there is to be a great and mighty President, with very extensive powers; the powers of a King: He is to be supported in extravagant magnificence: So that the whole of our property may be taken by this American Government, by laying what taxes they please, giving themselves what salaries they please, and suspending our laws at their pleasure: I might be thought too inquisitive, but I believe I should take up but very little of your time in enumerating the little power that is left to the Government of Virginia; for this power is reduced to little or nothing

Wow, he nailed it there.  As for an American president living in extravagant magnificence, all we have to do is look at the Obama’s.  And yes, this president has accumulated power – a power that rivals any monarch.  
What about the judiciary?  Do they not put a check on the outrages of a President and Congress?  Again, Patrick Henry nails it:

If they perpetrate the most unwarrantable outrage on your person or property, you cannot get redress on this side of Philadelphia or New York: and how can you get it there? If your domestic avocations could permit you to go thither, there you must appeal to Judges sworn to support this Constitution, in opposition to that of any State, and who may also be inclined to favor their own officers: When these harpies are aided by excisemen, who may search at any time your houses and most secret recesses, will the people bear it? If you think so you differ from me: Where I thought there was a possibility of such mischiefs, I would grant power with a niggardly hand

And see if you can’t draw any parallels with today’s federal government and the warnings proclaimed by Patrick Henry over 200 years ago:
Another beautiful feature of this Constitution is the publication from time to time of the receipts and expenditures of the public money. This expression, from time to time, is very indefinite and indeterminate: It may extend to a century. Grant that any of them are wicked, they may squander the public money so as to ruin you, and yet this expression will give you no redress. I say, they may ruin you;--- for where, Sir, is the responsibility? The yeas and nays will shew you nothing, unless they be fools as well as knaves: For after having wickedly trampled on the rights of the people, they would act like fools indeed, were they to public and divulge their iniquity, when they have it equally in their power to suppress and conceal it. --- Where is the responsibility --- that leading principle in the British government? In that government a punishment, certain and inevitable, is provided: But in this, there is no real actual punishment for the grossest maladministration. They may go without punishment, though they commit the most outrageous violation on our immunities. That paper may tell me they will be punished. I ask, by what law? They must make the law --- for there is no existing law to do it. What --- will they make a law to punish themselves? This, Sir, is my great objection to the Constitution, that there is no true responsibility --- and that the preservation of our liberty depends on the single chance of men being virtuous enough to make laws to punish themselves. In the country from which we are descended, they have real, and not imaginary, responsibility --- for there, maladministration has cost their heads, to some of the most saucy geniuses that ever were. The Senate, by making treaties may destroy your liberty and laws for want of responsibility. Two-thirds of those that shall happen to be present, can, with the President, make treaties, that shall be the supreme law of the land: They may make the most ruinous treaties; and yet there is no punishment for them.

Maladministration is exactly what is happening in Washington D.C. and there is no form of punishment that can redress the wrongs these subversives have inflicted upon us citizens.  The Anti-Federalist was right.  Time will tell what is to become of us.
Source:  http://www.let.rug.nl/usa/documents/1786-1800/the-anti-federalist-papers/speech-of-patrick-henry-(june-7-1788).php

Nanny Bloomberg Targets North Carolina Sen. Kay Hagan



Mayor Nanny Bloomberg is taking his authoritative freak show on the road.  The lord and master of the five boroughs isn’t content on flouting power in his NYC fiefdom.  Now he wants to impose his will on the rest of the country.  His Grace has targeted vulnerable senators in so-called swing states with ads like the following:

 

I don’t trust Nanny Bloomberg.  This ad may seem innocuous.  He isn’t.
I personally take issue with an authoritative NYC mayor trying to have influence over a North Carolina senator.  Senator Kay Hagan is supposed to look out after our state’s interest.  Unfortunately, she like many others has been swayed by outside players.  That’s why the 17th Amendment should be repealed.  A North Carolina U.S. senator should have to answer to the state legislators and not to an ambitious northeastern city dictator.  And if she fails to protect our interest, we at least would have a mechanism to recall her, which is what would have happened after her vote on Obamacare.


 

Detroit's Liberal Legacy: A Dictatorship



Detroit’s liberal legacy is coming to fruition.  The governor of Michigan had to install an emergency manager to oversee its affairs; practically giving him dictatorial powers.  The other alternative is bankruptcy.   Corruption, generous contracts to labor unions, a faltering auto industry, and a fleeing population are just some of the factors that lead to the dissolution of a once proud and prosperous city. 
Detroit has become so dysfunctional, basic services have been neglected.  Police don’t answer calls.  Broken street lights aren’t being replaced.  And of course, the citizens want something done about it; yet, protest this “power grab” by the governor.  Here are some of the powers granted to Kevyn Orr, the appointed emergency manager:

 Under a revised state law governing emergency managers that will go into effect on March 28, the same week that Mr. Orr is to begin his job, he will be granted sweeping powers to remake the city’s financial plan, change labor contracts and sell city assets. He will make $275,000 a year, nearly all of it paid by the state, and may choose to hire staff to be paid for by the city. Many of his decisions will trump those of elected officials, although some leaders — most notably Mr. Bing — have indicated a willingness to collaborate with Mr. Orr.
Despite Mr. Orr’s legal background, he said he hoped the city would not ultimately need to file for bankruptcy. Municipal bankruptcies are rare, but it was lost on no one that the state had selected an expert in bankruptcy law for Detroit, as opposed to a financial accountant, former city manager or elected official. Under Michigan law, a city can file for bankruptcy only under certain conditions, including if an emergency manager has attempted other measures and concluded that such a move is needed.

I just hope the irresponsible behavior by Democrats at the national level doesn’t translate into a Detroit legacy.


Tuesday, March 19, 2013

The Brad & Britt Show: Radio for the Low Information Voter




I am in radio hell.  The only game in town is 1110 WBT.  And believe me, when Rush Limbaugh states that his show is the fastest three hours in media, he’s not kidding.  Today, I was stuck listening to the Brad and Britt Show.  Sometimes I can handle their insipid commentary and their ill-fated humor, but today was insufferable.

The first hour was devoted to sniggering at citizens who begin their city affairs with a prayer.  The ACLU – a communist organization that devotes its time squashing the free speech rights of Christians – has filed a lawsuit.  Brad Krantz thought it a waste of time and money that a government entity should defend its rights.  When a caller asked why he was against city councilmen, or county commissioners engaging in prayer, he stated it was unconstitutional.   I’m here to say he’s wrong.

Any student of history can tell you that the U.S. Constitution would not have been ratified had it not been for the Anti-Federalist demanding a Bill of Rights.  The state of North Carolina waited until after the Bill of Rights passed when it finally ratified the Constitution.  And why was this demanded?  Because they did not trust a central government and wanted to protect the States and their citizens from federal tyranny.  The founders’ intent was reaffirmed during the Marshall Court.  Barron v. Baltimore set a precedent stating that the first eight amendments did not pertain to the States.  But as we’ve witnessed, the Supreme Court is fickle, especially when it's infested with progressives.

Next, I had to endure the sanctimonious testimonials of “republicans” whom have left, or are leaving the party.  The first was especially galling.  A 77 year old man stated he had been a republican all his life; but no more.  He demanded that the party raise his taxes; embrace universal health care and gay marriage; and chuck the likes of Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, and Glenn Beck.  Oh, and by the way he voted for Obama!  And did Brad and Brit question the authenticity of this caller?  Hell, no!

Then came the best caller of them all.  A world-weary 27 year old – fresh from law school – lectured everyone above the age of 50 on how to run this country.  And what special knowledge did this oracle have that none of his elders could possibly comprehend?  He knows the meaning of derivative markets.  Wow!   That is amazing.  It’s amazing that this snot-nosed kid thinks he’s the only one who knows what derivative markets are.

The wizard wasn’t through lecturing.  He proclaimed that traditional marriage was hedonistic, and true freedom is gay marriage.  This coming from a punk whose only reference of liberty is what encompasses his cubicle.  And what was Brad and Britt’s response? You’re great.  We enjoy your enthusiasm.

As I listened to this nonsense, the only thing I could do was shake my head.  If this is what our country has come too, we’re lost.  And the saddest part, is when our liberty has truly been taken away, the libtards won’t even know the difference; because they never comprehended what freedom meant to begin with.

Monday, March 18, 2013

Scarequestration Comes to North Carolina




“Scarequestration” has come to North Carolina.  It’s amazing how the reduction in the rate of growth of the federal government can cause such a stink.  More importantly, how much the federal government is involved in our everyday lives.  The Obama administration has been on an unprecedented scare spree.  The Clinton years pale in comparison to this.  Here is an example of what is happening:

Every slaughterhouse in the state must have a meat inspector on hand before it can process chickens, hogs or other animals. Certain meatpacking processes also need to be inspected in order to carry on operations.
Some of those inspectors work directly for the federal government. Others work jointly for the federal government and the state Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. The state and federal governments share half the cost for those joint inspectors.

Furloughed federal inspectors and less money to pay for joint inspectors could mean that everything from liver mush for in-state consumption to hamburger patties packaged for overseas sales could be slowed down.

"That's going to back up the farm," Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler said Tuesday morning after sharing the looming problem with other members of the Council of State. Animals stuck on the farm mean higher prices for farmers and potentially higher prices for consumers.

Roughly two-thirds of the revenue in North Carolina's farm sector goes to meat producers, Troxler said. So, this rather big wrinkle in "protein production" could severely affect the industry.
It could be two or three months before the slowdown fully hits, he said, because federal inspectors must receive at least 30 days' notice before they are furloughed.

Here we have another government agency running roughshod over us plebeians.  What’s particularly insulting is that this progressive era law was based on a lie.  The Food and Drug Act of 1906 was passed because of public hysteria perpetuated by muckraking journalist, especially by Upton Sinclair.  This man was a self-loving misanthrope.  His book The Jungle was a complete fiction passed off as fact.  No one could prove the accusations by this dirtbag socialist.   But that didn’t stop the progressives from taking control over the food supply.   And if you thought Nanny Bloomberg was wacky, let’s take a look at Harvey Washington Wiley.

 Wiley is known as the “father of the Pure Food and Drug Act.”  This man was as crazy and corrupt and the day is long on the summer solstice.  It paid to be friends with this nutter.  Henry John Heinz can attest to that.  Here is an excerpt from Judge Napolitano’s book, Theodore and Woodrow:

Several food industries supported Wiley, and he attempted to ban their competitors by using his theories about adulterated foods.  For example, he attempted to pass legislation against foods such as margarine and glucose in order to please the dairy and sugar industries’ lobbyists.

Wiley promoted a federal ban on food additives only after his friend Henry John Heinz was able to find a way to make ketchup without additives.  Wiley’s connections to big business were the driving force behind his alleged health regulations.  He put off his own agenda until his friend would be exempt and left Heinz with a virtual monopoly.

I highly recommend this book.  Judge Napolitano’s details how the progressives manipulated and outright lied to the public in order to pass their agenda.  Now, we’re seeing the fruits of these nanny staters.  These progressives will starve us, just to prove a point.
 

 



Obama Appears on History Channel's, The Bible




I believe the casting director for the History Channel’s, The Bible series, deserves an Emmy.  They couldn’t have picked a better Satan.  Obama had better watch out.  He might just get typecast after this appearance.
 

 

N.C. Newspaper Editors Demand College Education for Illegal Aliens



What is it about these libtards at our local newspapers?  Do they not know what’s going on throughout the rest of the country?  Recently, the Winston-Salem Journal published an editorial, demanding that illegal aliens have the ability to attend colleges in North Carolina.  They naively believe that citizens wouldn’t be displaced, and that these invaders would pay out-of-state tuition fees.  Any thinking person knows better.  Here is what’s happening in California:

More than 20,000 college-bound students are seeking state financial aid for the first time under California's new Dream Act laws that allow them to get the help despite their immigration status.

While far from a complete picture, that number is the best indicator yet of how many students hope to benefit from a pair of laws that could radically change the college experience for a generation of students whose parents brought them to the U.S. illegally when they were young -- the same group that has taken center stage in the national immigration reform debate.

"For many of them, it's a game-changer," said Meng So, who coordinates UC Berkeley's months-old Undocumented Student Program.

As college-bound high school graduates await word of their state financial aid -- Cal Grants -- other kinds of help have begun to flow for students already enrolled in public colleges and universities.

It’s disturbing that we have so-called citizens in this country who wish to excuse and legitimize illegal immigration.  Had it not been for the federal judiciary forcing states to educate the children of illegal aliens at the public school level, we wouldn’t have these problems to begin with.

I applaud Reps. George Cleveland, R-Onslow, and Chris Whitmire, R-Transylvania for introducing House Bill 218 that would bar illegal aliens from attending state’s community colleges.  They - unlike the editors at these socialist papers – have the foresight to know what admission means to these invaders.  At least these public servants value citizenship.

 
Source: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/03/17/3917402/give-illegal-immigrants-a-shot.html#disqus_thread#storylink=cpy

Obamacare Exchanges Sticking it to the States




Remember when President Obama promised that your insurance premiums would decrease if his “Affordable Health Care Act” was passed?  Well, as we are all becoming painfully aware of, cost are increasing.  And what about those states that refused to setup exchanges in lieu of a federally operated one?  Guess what?  The Obama administration figured a way to stick it to us.  Here is how the feds screwed North Carolina.
“Insurers would pay $181 million in fees to fund the operation of a federal exchange,” said Kerry Hall, spokeswoman for the Insurance Department. “The insurers would pass those costs on in some form to consumers. … It’s not state dollars.”

Proposed rules the federal government issued in November “indicates that a federal exchange would charge insurers who are participating in the exchange 3.5 percent [monthly] for premiums,” Hall said. That money would be used to pay administrative costs for the Obamacare exchanges, and the percentage is subject to change by HHS.

The state plugged that 3.5 percent number into previous cost-projection studies that estimated the number of uninsured people in North Carolina who would be required to purchase insurance under Obamacare, Hall said. From that, analysts determined overall fees paid by the insurance market would be $181 million.

“We’ve also done some analysis with the best information that is available” to determine how much it would cost to operate a state-based exchange, Hall said. “It might be closer to $90 million or $100 million, so roughly half the cost of a federal exchange.”

However, she acknowledged, “It’s a fuzzy estimate, but from everything we’ve seen we’re confident it would be less than a federal” exchange, and the state did its best to analyze cost differences.

“There really are too many unknown factors to come up with a great number” because of the many ways a state exchange could be designed, differing levels of customer service in each state, and what individual state governance would be, Hall said. “It’s not an apple-to-apple comparison, so you have to take our estimates with a grain of salt.”

Hypothetically, she said, a state-run exchange could use the same approach in affixing fees on insurance companies that take part in the online marketplace that would be established. Obamacare mandates that uninsured people must buy insurance. Those not eligible for Medicaid under Obamacare’s expanded income guidelines would buy policies from the exchange.

States also could appropriate money through their general funds or raise revenues by placing advertising on the online exchange, Hall said. The source of money would depend totally on how the state exchange was set up.

Had North Carolina pursued a state-operated exchange, the state Insurance Department would have administered the program. On Jan. 17 the federal government awarded grants of $12.2 million and $73.9 million to establish the exchange.


Notice the stipulation that administration fees are subject to change by the Department of Human and Health Services.  I’m sure they’ll change as frequently as a bureaucrat adds a regulation.  Get ready for a huge sticker shock in 2014, state ran or not. 




Obamacare is a nightmare and it hasn't even been implemented yet.  What a liar!

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Calvin Coolidge: The Scrooge that Begot Plenty



I read Amity Shlaes book, The Forgotten Man.  I'm looking forward to her latest.

H/T:  Maggies Farm

Statue of Thirsty


Here is a modern day statue of Liberty.  For those who're thirsty to be free of Nanny Bloomberg's tyranny.

North Carolina's Big Hospitals Predatory Practices



Liberal politicians never fail to scream about the “record profits” of oil companies, but you’ll never hear them complain about big hospitals.  The profit margin for the integrated oil and gas industry is 7.9%.  Nationally in 2010, big hospital recorded a 9.3% profit margin.  In North Carolina, Duke Hospital pulled in a 20.1% profit margin.  Now, that’s an eye opener.  Here are a few reasons why:    
In North Carolina’s cities, these hospitals are piling up profits, along with billions of dollars in reserves. An investigation by The News & Observer and The Charlotte Observer found that:

• UNC Hospitals and Duke University Health System recently booked record profits. Duke’s total profit, which includes investment income, rose to a half-billion dollars in 2011, a margin of 20.1 percent.

• They’ve made their money largely from employer-sponsored health insurance, often inflating prices on drugs and procedures – sometimes to three, four or 10 times over costs. North Carolina hospital costs are more than 10 percent higher than the national average for Aetna, said Jarvis Leigh, a network vice president.

• They’ve hiked their fees each year, leaving many patients with crippling debt. Some hospitals have sued thousands of patients, while others have turned to collection agencies to pursue debtors.

• They’ve plowed their profits into expensive buildings and machines and have rewarded executives with generous salaries. Twenty-five executives of public and nonprofit hospitals in North Carolina had total compensation of more than $1 million in 2010 or 2011, the most recent data available.

• They’ve solidified their market power by stashing billions of dollars for future purchases. Duke, for example, has reserves of $1.5 billion. In Charlotte, Carolinas HealthCare System has banked more than $2 billion

Another factor in soaring health care cost is a third-party payer system.  Hospitals make up the losses for Medicaid and Medicare patients by overinflating their prices onto the insured.  Also, patients are removed from the decision making process.  That ultimately leads to unnecessary testing and questionable billing practices.
What is amazing is that these same hospitals are demanding that North Carolina legislators approve the expansion of Medicaid.  Why is that?  Could it be to drive independent practitioners out of business and into their all-encompassing rubric?

Many independent physicians can’t keep their doors open because of the low reimbursement rates of Medicaid and Medicare, while at the same time compete with the predatory practices of big hospitals.  Independents are retiring, or joining the behemoths.
Consolidation almost always leads to higher prices.  And Obamacare certainly will contribute to the cost.  Here is an excerpt from the News and Observer stating just that:

With the 2010 passage of the Affordable Care Act, the Obama administration aims to control health care costs.
Some experts, however, fear the law – under review at the U.S. Supreme Court – could wind up doing the opposite. The law calls for the creation of networks of hospitals, doctors and other medical providers. But that sort of consolidation, studies have shown, almost always leads to higher prices.

With mergers and acquisitions, some hospital systems have become so large and dominant that they can easily raise their prices.
Increasingly, the Triangle is dominated by three expanding hospital systems: Duke, UNC and WakeMed.

And isn’t that what Obamacare is about? Consolidating services and resources into one giant monstrosity?  And as we’ve seen with the politicians and bureaucrats in Washington D.C. cost is of no concern to the totalitarians, particularly when they want to control it.

http://www.csmonitor.com/Business/Consumer-Energy-Report/2012/0427/Are-the-oil-companies-gouging-gas-prices